Distances

Tulip Chowdhury
1 min readOct 12, 2024

--

The window in my room is four feet away from the chair I sit

four steps to take if I open it

and feast my eyes on the rolling green fields meeting the horizon;

there, the distance in my vision faces a wall.

To move on, I open the windows of my mind and heart.

They overtake the obstacle of the eyes and fly over;

to lands, I traveled to decades ago

to people on the other side of the Atlantic

and far beyond.

The mental traveler has no distance restrictions

and flies to loved ones gone to the land of no return

and a country left behind long, long ago.

In nostalgic moods,

I close my eyes, put off the limitations of my eyes

and open the floodgate of love and loved ones

in my mind’s eyes.

Loved ones hug me and hold me beyond their times

and happiness is all mine.

Tulip Chowdhury writes from Georgia, USA.

--

--

Tulip Chowdhury

There are moments of magic and challenges in living this earthly life. May my wings soar through the blessed energy of the universe.